Clinician – 56A

Sarah McKoin
2019 KMEA All-State 56A Band Conductor

Sarah McKoin is the Director of Bands, Professor of Conducting, and Chair of the Conducting area at Texas Tech University. Her responsibilities include Conductor and Musical Director of the TTU Symphonic Wind Ensemble, administrating the graduate program in wind conducting, conducting pedagogy and wind literature, while overseeing all facets of the university band program which includes 5 concert bands, the 400-member Goin’ Band and other athletic bands. Under Dr. McKoin’s direction, the Symphonic Wind Ensemble has performed at the 2018 Midwest Clinic in Chicago, multiple times for the Texas Music Educators Association Conference, and has twice been featured at the College Band Director’s National Association Southwest Conference. Her ensemble has performed world premiere recordings of the wind music of Chen Yi and Narong Prangcharoen, and production is currently underway for a world premiere recording of Avner Dorman’s wind music. Active as a guest conductor and clinician, Dr. McKoin has traveled extensively throughout the United States and abroad. She has worked in Canada, Thailand, China, Israel and Taiwan. Prior to her appointment at Texas Tech, Professor McKoin was the Director of Bands at the University of Missouri-Kansas City Conservatory of Music and held appointments at the State University of New York at Buffalo and SUNY Fredonia. Additionally, McKoin previously served on the conducting faculty at the Brevard Music Center in Brevard, North Carolina, and has taught at the Interlochen Arts Academy. Dr. McKoin holds her Doctor of Musical Arts degree from the University of Texas at Austin as well as degrees from Wichita State University and Michigan State University. She has served as President of the Southwest Division of the College Band Director’s National Association as well as President of the Big 12 Band Director’s Association. She is a member of TMEA, TBA, Phi Beta Mu, Pi Kappa Lambda and holds honorary memberships in Kappa Kappa Psi and Tau Beta Sigma.